Public Document Pack

Tony Kershaw Director of Law and Assurance

If calling please ask for:

Clare Jones on 033 022 22526 Email: clare.jones@westsussex.gov.uk

www.westsussex.gov.uk

County Hall Chichester West Sussex PO19 1RQ Switchboard Tel no (01243) 777100



21 May 2021

County Council - Friday, 21 May 2021 – summary of decisions

We apologise for the technical issues which affected the sound of the webcast of the meeting of the County Council on Friday, 21 May 2021.

A summary of the main decisions taken at the meeting is set out below and the final list of committee appointments is attached.

Item 1 – Election of Chairman

Cllr Pete Bradbury was elected Chairman for the ensuing year.

Item 2 – Election of Vice-Chairman

Cllr Sujan Wickremaratchi was elected Vice-Chairman for the ensuing year.

Item 8(a) – Appointment of Leader

Cllr Paul Marshall was appointed Leader for a four-year term.

Item 8(b) – Notification of Cabinet Members

Cllr Marshall confirmed his appointments to the Cabinet as previously circulated.

Agenda No Item

9. Appointments to Committees (Pages 3 - 8)

Appointments to committees and panels were approved as attached.

Yours sincerely

Tony Kershaw Director of Law and Assurance To all members of the County Council

Appointments to Committees – May 2021 (excluding non-Council members)

Scrutiny Committees

Name	No. of members	Members	Substitutes
Name Children and Young People's Services	No. of members 12	MembersCllr BaldwinCllr BennettCllr BurgessCllr CharlesCllr CherryCllr CornellCllr HallCllr Hillier (Chairman)Cllr Linehan (Vice-Chairman)Cllr MercerCllr Smith	Substitutes Cllr Chowdhury Cllr Lord 1 Con vacancy
Environment and Communities	12	Cllr Sparkes Cllr Albury Cllr Baxter Cllr Britton (Chairman) Cllr Greenway Cllr Kenyon Cllr Markwell Cllr Markwell Cllr McDonald Cllr Milne Cllr Oakley (Vice-Chairman) Cllr Oppler Cllr Oppler Cllr Payne Cllr Quinn	Cllr Ali Cllr B Cooper Cllr O'Kelly
Fire & Rescue Service	7	Cllr Boram (Chairman) Cllr Charles Cllr Dunn Cllr Milne	Cllr Oppler Cllr Oxlade 1 Con vacancy

Name	No. of members	Members	Substitutes
		Cllr Pendleton (Vice-Chairman)	
		Cllr Richardson	
		Cllr Turley	
Health and Adult Social	12	Cllr Atkins	Cllr Burgess
Care		Cllr Bence (Vice-Chairman)	Cllr Cornell
		Cllr A Cooper	Cllr Joy
		Cllr B Cooper	
		Cllr Forbes	
		Cllr McGregor	
		Cllr Nagel	
		Cllr O'Kelly	
		Cllr Patel	
		Cllr Pudaloff	
		Cllr Wall (Chairman)	
		Cllr Walsh	
Performance and Finance	15	Cllr Burrett (Vice-Chairman)	Cllr Baxter
		Cllr Boram	Cllr Walsh
		Cllr Britton	1 Con vacancy
		Clir B Cooper	
		Cllr Condie	
		Clir Elkins	
		Cllr Evans Cllr Hillier	
		Clir Lord	
		Cllr Montyn (Chairman) Cllr Nagel	
		Clir Pendleton	
		Clir Sparkes	
		Cllr Turley	
		Clir Wall	

Note: The Council waived Standing Order 2.15A which sets out that the chairmen and vice-chairmen of scrutiny committees will be appointed by the first meeting of each committee. Instead interim appointments have been made to those positions

to run until the first meeting of each committee when the process set out in Standing Orders for appointments by the Committees will be followed. This will assist in preparations for the first meetings of the committees.

Non-executive committees

Name	No. of members	Members	Other members
Governance Committee	9	Cllr Baxter Cllr Bradbury (Chairman) Cllr Burrett Cllr A Jupp Cllr Lord Cllr Marshall Cllr O'Kelly Cllr Waight Cllr Wickremaratchi (Vice-Chairman)	Not applicable
Pensions Committee	7	Cllr Baxter Cllr Condie Cllr J Dennis Cllr Elkins Cllr Hunt (Chairman) Cllr N Jupp Cllr Urguhart	Not applicable
Planning and Rights of Way Committee	13	Cllr Ali Cllr Atkins (Vice-Chairman) Cllr Burrett (Chairman) Cllr Duncton Cllr Gibson Cllr Hall Cllr Joy Cllr McDonald Cllr Montyn Cllr Oakley Cllr Patel Cllr Quinn	Substitutes: Cllr Boram Cllr Cherry Cllr Forbes Cllr Kenyon Cllr Magill Cllr Markwell Cllr Turley Cllr Wickremaratchi

Name	No. of members	Members	Other members
		Cllr Sharp	
Regulation, Audit and Accounts	7	Cllr Boram (Vice-Chairman) Cllr B Cooper Cllr N Dennis (Chairman) Cllr Greenway Cllr Magill Cllr Montyn Cllr Wall	Not applicable
Staff Appeals Panel	18	Cllr Bence Cllr Britton Cllr Bradbury Cllr Burrett Cllr A Cooper Cllr Duncton Cllr Johnson Cllr Linehan Cllr Linehan Cllr Lord Cllr Mercer Cllr Mercer Cllr Mitchell Cllr Patel Cllr Wall Cllr Walsh Cllr Walsh Cllr Wickremaratchi 3 vacancies	Not applicable
Standards Committee	9	Cllr Bradbury (Chairman) Cllr Burrett Cllr Cherry Cllr Gibson Cllr Johnson Cllr Kenyon Cllr A Jupp Cllr Sparkes Cllr Wickremaratchi (Vice-Chairman)	Not applicable

Informal Panels and Groups

Name	No. of members	Members	Other members
Corporate Parenting Panel	7	Cllr Bennett Cllr Burgess Cllr Linehan Cllr Lord Cllr Oxlade (Vice-Chairman) Cllr Russell (Chairman) Cllr Sparkes	Not applicable
Electoral Review Panel	10	Cllr Boram Cllr Bradbury Cllr Cherry Cllr Crow (Chairman) Cllr N Dennis Cllr Markwell Cllr Mitchell Cllr Oakley Cllr Waight 1 Lab vacancy	Not applicable
Foster Panel (North)	1	Cllr Linehan	Not applicable
Foster Panel (South East)	1	Cllr Chowdhury	Not applicable
Foster Panel (South West)	1	Cllr Oppler	Not applicable
Member Development Group	10	Cllr Cherry Cllr A Cooper Cllr McGregor Cllr Mercer Cllr Nagel Cllr Oxlade	Not applicable

Name	No. of members	Members	Other members
		Cllr Sparkes	
		Cllr Waight	
		Cllr Wickremaratchi	
		1 Con vacancy	
Safeguarding Adults	3	Cllr Chowdhury	Not applicable
Member Reference		Cllr A Jupp	
Group		Cllr O'Kelly	
Treasury Management	5	Cllr Condie	Not applicable
Panel		Cllr B Cooper	
		Cllr Dunn	
		Cllr J Dennis	
		Cllr Hunt (Chairman)	

Agenda Item 9